## STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS P.O. BOX 6486, ANNAPOLIS, MD 21401-0486 PHONE (410) 269-2840

Michael G. Summers, Chairman William G. Voelp, Vice Chairman Janet Millenson Yaakov "Jake" Weissmann



Jared DeMarinis State Administrator

Katherine Berry Deputy Administrator

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 11, 2024

## Maryland State Board Elections Chair Releases A Statement on the Resignation of Board Member Carlos Ayala

**ANNAPOLIS, Md** – The Maryland State Board of Elections Board Chair, Michael G. Summers, released the following statement:

"As Chair of the Maryland State Board of Elections, I have accepted the immediate resignation of Carlos Ayala.

The Board is committed to maintaining the security and integrity of our elections in Maryland in a non-partisan manner. The State Board will remain steadfast in our mission to oversee our elections process and serve as a trusted source of information for all Marylanders during this presidential election year."

####

Reporters may contact: Rick Abbruzzese at ra@kopublicaffairs.com or at 410-790-5002.